Summer Reading Bingo Wrap-Up

Well, what do you know, I got a BINGO!!

photo (9)

The book that got me to the bingo was Parnassus on Wheels by Christopher Morley (book with only words on the cover).  It was a nice short (142 pages) read about a travelling bookstore that I enjoyed more than I expected.

I did manage to fill two other squares on my card in August:

  • Biography or memoir:  Year of No Sugar: A Memoir by Eve O. Schaub. As the title suggests, this book is about the author and her family going for a year without sugar.  I enjoyed reading this and it has inspired me to pay closer attention to the amount of hidden sugar in what I am eating.
  • With a one-word title:  Landline by Rainbow Rowell.  In an exception to the general rule, I think this would make a better movie than it did a novel.  It is a story about a woman who stays home in L.A. at Christmas while her husband and daughters go to Nebraska and in a parallel to a key point in the couple’s relationship she communicates with her then-boyfriend via a yellow telephone in her bedroom at her mother’s home.    Unfortunately I didn’t find the plot engaging and despite the fact that the main character is a comedy writer, I didn’t find it funny either.

Did you play Summer Reading Bingo?  How did you do?

 

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Reading Bingo Wrap-Up

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    What fun! Congrats!

Comments are closed.