Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

Things are rolling along well with the Marine.  I see him twice a week for some heavy duty strength training and stress release – once in a while he has me do sets of medicine ball slams which is just throwing a 14 lb medicine ball to the ground but man is it therapeutic after a day at the office.  Now that I am getting stronger, though, he wants me to add some more cardio into my workouts, at least 20 minutes of interval training after I’ve done strength and 30-45 minutes when I’m not.  Again, I am the teacher’s pet so I do what I’m told, sometimes to the extreme.  Last Tuesday I walked/ran 5k on the treadmill after the Marine gave me a lot of stuff for my legs on Monday, so needless to say Wednesday I was not moving very quickly.

It is silly, but I’ve created a rule for myself that I can’t leave the gym floor until I have hit 10,000 steps on my fitbit.  I’ve been at it a week and so far so good – on occasion I’ve caught myself wanting to head to the locker room with a few hundred steps to go knowing that I’ll hit 10,000 steps but I stop and do an extra lap or two (or 4) around the track.  It’s amazing how such a small thing gives me a sense of accomplishment.

And the other day I saw a number on the scale I haven’t seen in a very long time, so I must be doing something right.

Quick review:  I just finished a book called Diet Cults:  The Surprising Fallacy at the Core of Nutrition Fads and a Guide to Healthy Eating for the Rest of Us by Matt Fitzgerald and it was fascinating.  If you have ever fallen prey to any diet fads — paleo, gluten-free, raw food, even Weight Watchers — you will find this book interesting.  It’s not that any of these eating lifestyles are wrong, per se, but that they are not THE ONE TRUE WAY to eat.  There is no perfect way to eat that suits everyone.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. Melissa K says:

    Congrats!!! Nice work!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Heather says:

    I like medicine ball slams too.

  3. Leeswammes says:

    I’m really impressed, you’re doing so well. I guess the appointments with the Marine make all the difference. You’d never stand him up, of course.

    Congrats on the new numbers on the scales!

  4. Vicki says:

    Congrats on doing a fantastic job with the Marine! I know how tough they can be, so I’m impressed!

  5. joyweesemoll says:

    I love how motivating my fit bit is for getting just a few more steps in. I’m actually looking forward to winter when less of my exercise happens in the yard. Raking was a great workout today (I can feel it in my back muscles) but it didn’t take many steps.

    Diet Cults sounds like just the sort of book I like. I’ve come to the conclusion that the more out-of-the-mainstream a diet plan is, the more cult-like the support needs to be. That’s not necessarily bad if you like that sort of thing, but it can be very hard on people who “fail.” They lose their community along with their diet plan, and feel like they failed, when, really, it was the plan that failed them.

  6. Mystica says:

    Despite following you, your posts are not showing up in my dashboard. Any idea why?

  7. Laurie C says:

    I need my own Marine! 😉

Comments are closed.