Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

I need to learn to stop oversharing when the Marine asks me a question.  Yesterday I was doing step-ups on a 12-inch step while holding 15 pound dumbbells and he asked how I liked step-ups.  I said they were ok but a little bit boring.  His response:  “Ok, then let’s add a leg raise to them”.  Oy.  But once again as a teacher’s pet I did what I was told.

Part of me really hates when he pushes me to my limits, but at the same time I like that he does it.  He won’t make me continue with a set if he sees I’m really struggling with a weight,  but he won’t let me slack off either.  Again yesterday I was doing leg extensions and he put the weight at 50 or 60 pounds and asked me to do 8 reps.  I sometimes lose count when I’m doing the exercise, but I counted this time and I ended up doing 10 when he told me to stop.  I said that I didn’t think that was 8 and he told me he didn’t want me to stop while it was looking easy for me.  That guy is a sneak!

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    8, 10, what’s a couple reps between friends? 🙂

  2. Leeswammes says:

    It’s what you got him for, to take you to the limits. Where would you be now, without him? 🙂

Comments are closed.