Reading Withdrawal

So I am just back from a weekend in Minneapolis (about a six hour drive from where I live) where I watched my 10 y/o nephew play hockey among other activities with my brother and his family.  I had a lot of fun, yet each day I felt a little bit edgy because I could not do much reading.

Am I weird?  (Wait, maybe don’t answer that)

I brought only physical book with me and I had reading apps full of books/magazines on my iPad, so it wasn’t for a lack of material.  And it wasn’t for lack of time, since we didn’t have any late nights.  I just found it really hard to sit and concentrate on reading in the hotel room while my husband (a non-reader) channel surfed for something to watch on TV — generally spending five seconds on a program before moving on.   And as a result whatever reading I did was very unfocused and much like someone who doesn’t get enough sleep I was a little bit grumpy.

Reading feeds my endless curiosity and broadens my horizons, but it is also my escape from the real world, even when the real world for once is something fun.  I loved spending time with my brother, sister-in-law, nieces and nephew, but in the back of my head I think I could have been more fun if I had just 15-20 minutes to myself each day to grab my reading fix.

Do you have ways to ensure you carve reading time into family vacations or other such events?

 

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.