Readers’ Workouts, or My Recent Adventures with the Marine

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

As I mentioned in last week’s post, the Marine had me weightlifting with a barbell last Monday , as well as doing 60 lb single arm lat pulls and rows among other torture exercises.  It was a hard workout, but I managed.  Then at Wednesday’s workout he informed me that it would be a heavy weight workout.  Um, what was Monday?  So he put me through a whole bunch of exercises, after which I now understand the term muscle fatigue.  As I did my cooldown on the stationery bike I asked him in my semi-breathless state if he would write me a doctor’s note for work and he just laughed sadistically (not really, he puts me through my paces but he is a quiet guy).

Yesterday I was having a bad day at work so I e-mailed the Marine and asked if he could incorporate hitting things into the day’s workout.  He didn’t get the message in time to set up the boxing equipment (hopefully tomorrow *fingers crossed*) but we did mix in sets of throwing a 14 lb medicine ball to the ground (which I pretended to be someone’s head – yes it was that kind of day) with other exercises and that was incredibly therapeutic.

I have to remind myself of these feelings when down the road I get into a rut and do not want to drag myself to the gym.  Exercising is not only for the physical benefits; those are of course important but for me the mental/emotional benefits are amazing.  Even friends and co-workers comment on the difference they see in my mood when I’m exercising vs when I’m not.

Oh and I also mentioned last week that I was taking a test to determine my RMR (Resting Metabolic Rate).  It turns out that I burn close to 1800 calories a day simply by existing.  Some of that I’m sure can be attributed to my recent increase in strength training.  The Marine was very happy with that number, of course now he is going to change up my workouts so I can build up more muscle and get it even higher.  And it could explain why I haven’t been losing as much weight on Optifast as they expected – I was only on 1000 calories a day and since I burn more than that at rest (and even more when I exercise) my body was essentially in starvation mode and was holding onto extra weight as a safety net.  So I’ve been bumped up to 1300 calories a day (they recommend a 500 calorie deficit per day to lose weight) and we will see how that goes.  Ultimately I’m feeling good, my clothes are fitting better, and I know the weight will come off eventually – as long as I keep eating right and working out – so for the first time in a while I’m not too concerned with THAT NUMBER on the scale.

 

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Readers’ Workouts, or My Recent Adventures with the Marine

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    The medicine ball does sound like great therapy! My major motivators for exercise are improved mood and better sleep.

  2. Leeswammes says:

    Looks like you’re doing great. That Marine sound like a tough guy, but it gets you somewhere, so that is great. I never knew exercise and mood would be so related! Keep it up!

  3. Chris Wolak says:

    Hitting/pounding/throwing things in a safe environment is a beautiful release. Good work–can’t wait to hear how the boxing goes.

Comments are closed.