Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

If you had told me a few weeks ago that I’d be weightlifting (I mean what you see at the Olympics-type weightlifting) I would have laughed in your face – not to be mean of course, just because I never would have thought it possible.  Yet yesterday that is exactly what I did.  Granted, it was only with 25 lb plates (one on each side of the barbell) and it was squats with the barbell behind my head – but I did 3 sets and I am not ashamed to say I am just a bit impressed with myself!  Once again the Marine has more faith in my abilities than I do.

Since my last post I did make the investment in more personal training sessions with the Marine and he says he has developed a “great” program for me.  As of now I don’t know exactly what that entails – aside from seeing him for half an hour (an INTENSE half-hour) twice a week – but I am seeing and feeling the results so I am not complaining.   And who can complain about a trainer who tells you when not to work out — I am having a test to determine my RMR (resting metabolic rate) tomorrow morning and he told me that exercising can skew the results so I shouldn’t do any strenuous activity tonight.  Don’t have to tell me twice about that 😉

But I am seeing the Marine tomorrow night so maybe I should be a little afraid …..

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    That’s great! I don’t think I’ve ever lifted a barbell. Have a great non-strenuous evening!

  2. gsjonuk says:

    Outstanding Sue! Keep it up.

  3. Having a really good trainer can make a world of difference. It is just a point of sifting out the not so greats from the the greats.

Comments are closed.