Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

Back in January I started the OptiFast weight loss program through a local hospital that is affiliated with the gym to which I belong.  I am restricted to 800-1000 calories per day, consuming the “food” (shakes, soups and bars) offered through the program (and I’ll admit up front I am not perfect with following this).  At first I had very little energy to do any exercise – and I wasn’t in the mood, frankly – but because that is an essential part of any successful weight loss I did mostly cardio workouts.  Then I was offered discounted personal training sessions through the program and I jumped on those.  I was lucky enough to go back to the trainer I was working with last year – whom I fondly call The Marine – and he told me not to do any cardio and focus on strength training.  I was confused by this, but the gist of how he explained it to me is that because I’m taking in so few calories if I do cardio it will pull energy from muscles instead of fat, whereas if I do strength training the fat will be burned.

It’s science …. and whether or not I understand it seems to be working.  Despite my thinking that I have no strength The Marine has me using weights that I never thought I could manage – yet for the most part I am managing!  The workouts are certainly challenging but I can do them and I even have built up enough confidence to do some of the exercises with the same weight when I’m on my own.

The scale is showing progress, but not at the pace I’d like (and that is my fault for not faithfully following the program) but I am feeling results in my clothes and my energy/mood level which I think is more important and which I wholly attribute to my exercising.  I wish I could afford The Marine for all of my workouts, but I think even one session a week is a necessary expense I will need to account for in my budget.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    That’s great progress. So cool that you’re seeing a difference in your energy and mood — that’s the best!

  2. gsjonuk says:

    Outstanding work Sue. I know you can and will keep it up!

Comments are closed.