The Lost Wife by Alyson Richman

 

thelostwifeI really want to talk about The Lost Wife but I feel that I cannot properly do so without revealing spoilers, even though one of them takes place in the first chapter.  However I enjoyed it very much, and you will have to trust me on that.

But the broad strokes are that it is a love story that begins in Czechoslovakia before the Second World War begins, and the story moves back and forth between the two characters, Josef and Lenka, until the present day.  It is beautiful and heartbreaking.

My only quibble with the book is that I wanted to continue the story after it officially ended.  Yes, we never want a great book to end – but there was so much to be told after the final page and I have so many questions.

So read this book and then we can talk about it in more detail.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in 2014, fiction, holocaust, Uncategorized, World War II. Bookmark the permalink.