Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.  I’m late in posting this week, but since I missed last week I felt I had better put something down.

I did my third kettlebell boot camp session yesterday and I am still alive!  In fact I am feeling that there may be some results, in that my clothes are feeling ever so slightly looser.  It’s only one hour once a week, but strangely enough that one hour motivates me to get to the gym more often during the week.  That first session was just after I came back from Booktopia in Michigan, so I had not been to the gym in about a week, and though I made it through the hour it was rough and my legs felt like jello for about two days afterward.  It hit me like a ton of bricks that if I want it to not be so hard I should try and build up some strength and endurance on my own, so despite preferring to come home from work and collapse on the couch with my book, I’ve been going to the gym, even if it is only for a mile or two on the elliptical machine.

I’m a slow learner, but when I realize something I do truly take it to heart.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    That’s great that your class is motivating you to workout on other nights as well. Kettle bells look like fun — I want to try that some day.

  2. Jan says:

    I can completely relate to trying hard to overcome the urge to just come home and relax with a book rather than go exercise! It’s something I’ve been struggling with more and more as the weather’s gotten worse here in Scotland but so far I’m still managing to stay on track with the workouts!

Comments are closed.