The Orphan Master’s Son – Help!

9780812982626

My book club will be meeting on Monday to discuss Adam Johnson’s The Orphan Master’s Son.  It was loved by Ann and Michael of Books on the Nightstand, two of my favorite bookish people, and this year it won The Pulitzer Prize for fiction.  It is a novel set in North Korea, and since I always enjoy reading about unfamiliar places and cultures I thought it would be an interesting book.

But….

I tried reading it not long after it was released, but put it aside after about 100 pages because I just wasn’t into it.  Maybe it was the style of the writing, how the story was moving, or maybe it was just me at the time — who knows?  About a week ago I picked it up again and I’ve gotten further – I’m about halfway done – but it is still not interesting me very much.  Since it is for book club I am going to do my best to see it through to the end but it is going to be tough.

I am told that the ending is excellent and that my patience will be rewarded.  Without giving anything away, if you have read this book can you tell me if this is true?

I need a life line to help me off this sinking ship …..

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Orphan Master’s Son – Help!

  1. I loved the first few chapters of this book. I thought they were exciting, realistic and revealing. Unfortunately I didn’t enjoy the rest of it. It got increasingly silly and unrealistic (I think it is supposed to be a parody) I wish I’d abandoned it after 100 pages!

  2. Leeswammes says:

    I also loved the beginning of the book but I lost interest after a while and never finished the book. So, you’re definitely not alone!

  3. Brooke says:

    Now I’m worried about this one as well. I know people who bow down before it and those who think it’s utter garbage. Jeez – how can one book be viewed so differently by so many people?

  4. I know I’m late, but I really loved a lot his book. see here why: http://wordsandpeace.com/2012/06/25/2012-30-the-orphan-masters-son/

Comments are closed.