Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

Last week at the gym I registered for a Kettlebell Boot Camp which starts in a couple of weeks.  I’m no longer working out with a personal trainer (long story about that, maybe another time) and I feel I need some sort of structure at least some of the time.  I wasn’t really sure what to expect; I’ve used kettlebells a little bit but it has been limited.

Then last night when I was at the gym I was going to start my workout and one of my former trainers called me aside, remembered that I had mentioned interest in the Kettlebell Boot Camp, and told me they were doing a demo class in 5 minutes and that I should try it out.  So I did.

Oh.My.God.  The demo class was only a half hour, the regular sessions will be one hour, and I think I now know how I’m going to die.

Of course I’m exaggerating (a bit).  The demo class was popular and there were a limited number of kettlebells, so I was stuck with a 15 lb one, which I have used for the few exercises I’ve done on my own but for some of the exercises in the class it was a struggle to do the full sets with proper form.  I was a little discouraged, but I know that for the actual Boot Camp I will make sure I have a lighter kettlebell at least at the beginning.

So now I’m in training for boot camp — now that I know what to expect I can prepare myself to get through that first session and continue to progress.

 

 

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    I haven’t tried kettlebells but they look like they would be fun and motivating. Looking forward to hearing about how it goes when you can start with a smaller one.

  2. I haven’t tried kettlebells either but they interest me. I do use my 5 & 8 pound weights a lot, in the same way you might use the kettlebells though… curious to see how you enjoy the class!

    I have used a personal trainer a few times, it’s not for me. I feel like I’m being judged and often don’t want to do what the trainer suggests. HA!

    Have a great week!

  3. Vicki says:

    I have a set of kettlebells (5, 10 & 15 lbs.) and love them. I couldn’t do the whole dvd that came with them at first, it was hard!! Hope you enjoy the class!

    I’d love to have a personal trainer, but I live way out in the boonies.

  4. gsjonuk says:

    Good luck on your new fitness regime Sue! Hope you have the bells for it!

Comments are closed.