Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

So after last Tuesday’s workout session, I didn’t go back to the gym until …. today.  Bad girl :-(.  In my (weak) defense, I have been fighting a nagging cough for a few weeks that isn’t so bad most of the time but when I cough it’s like I’m choking.  Not the best of situations to do any intense exercise.

But …. on Sunday I did spend the day with my brother and his family in Chicago while they made a quick visit down from Toronto.  We walked A LOT (and my 3 1/2 year old nieces no longer use a stroller so they were walking too) and according to my fitbit I logged over 10,000 steps.  So there’s that.

And today on my return to the gym I did a 5k on the elliptical machine in just under 36 minutes (I wanted to take a photo of the machine display as proof but I am a new iPhone owner and didn’t get it figured out in time before the stats disappeared).  I still debate with myself on whether or not I want to try another 5k; over the summer I’ve done a few 5k sessions on the elliptical and have done some running too, I just have to decide if I want to focus on that goal.  I’ve found that I crave novelty, and if I spend too much time on one type of activity I get bored and unmotivated really quick.

 

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    I used to have a bit of a love / hate relationship with goals like that. As soon as I’d sign up, I’d wish I hadn’t. In the long run, I ended up deciding that I needed structures for exercise that didn’t depend on my being signed up for an event all the time. But, I still miss the excitement of that.

  2. Satia says:

    10K steps is great. That’s about 5 miles, judging by my own experience. When I walk 4 miles in a day, I might reach 10K but when I walk 5 miles I definitely reach it and surpass it.

    And coughs are a good reason to take it easy. Especially with cardio.

  3. heather says:

    Great job with the walking. I like using my FitBit on trips like that to see how much exercise I’m getting when I’m not actually “working out.”

  4. Vicki says:

    Good job!! I’m just starting to try and get my 10,0000 steps a day. According to a site I found, since I’m 5 foot even, I need to walk 3.9 miles to reach that many steps.

Comments are closed.