An Open Letter to Rohinton Mistry

Dear Mr. Mistry,

I just finished re-reading Such a Long Journey, and once again I am blown away with how you can describe the sights and smells of Bombay – both good and bad – in such a way that I feel like I’m there and I want to visit more often.
Last fall I re-read A Fine Balance and it reinforced my claim that this is one of my all-time favorite books.
I will start a re-read of your short story collection, Tales from Firozha Baag very soon, as I will be loaning my copy of this and Journey to a friend who just finished Balance and wants to read more of your work. And then I will likely re-read Family Matters.
And then I need you to PUBLISH SOMETHING NEW! Family Matters was published in 2002 and I haven’t heard anything from you since then. None of the bookish people I follow on Twitter or other social media have any news to report on when you will be giving us a new novel.
Please put us out of our misery and release a new book. I am not entirely exaggerating when I say that I will be the first to pre-order it when it is announced and that I will be waiting patiently outside my favorite bookstore on release day to pick it up and start reading it.
Best regards,
bibliosue

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Open Letter to Rohinton Mistry

  1. heavenali says:

    I love Rohinton Mistry – I agree it is too long since there has been a new book. i have been thinking of re-reading the others though.

Comments are closed.