Holiday Reading

Tomorrow (Thursday) is a holiday here in the United States (and, side note, it is the anniversary of the day I moved from Canada to the Chicagoland area in 1999).  Though one day off is good, I decided to take a few extra days off and treat myself to a five day weekend.  Aside from an aromatherapy body scrub later this morning (yay!) and a doctor’s appointment on Friday (boo!) I have no concrete plans but to read, read and read some more.

Here are the books I’ve taken out for the weekend:

DSC01260

  •  The House of Special Purpose by John Boyne.  I’m already about halfway through this novel and I’m really enjoying it.  It is set partially in Imperial Russia just before the Revolution, and I think I know what twist is coming, but I can’t say for certain yet.
  • Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein.  I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book and since it is set in World War II, one of my favorite periods to read about, I thought it was about time to read it myself.
  • The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Steadman.  My book club will be discussing this on the 15th so I’d better get started on it soon.  I don’t know too much about this book, but Judith (Leeswammes) seemed to enjoy it and she and I often share the same taste in books.
  • Life After Life by Jill McCorkle.  In September I will be attending Booktopia in Petoskey, Michigan (so excited!), and Jill McCorkle will be one of the featured authors.  Funnily enough this book came out the same day as Kate Atkinson’s novel of the same name (you cannot copyright titles apparently), but they are very different stories (last week’s Books on the Nightstand podcast talked about both books – and once again, you really need to subscribe to this podcast if you do not already!)

I’m ready for some R&R – relaxing and reading 🙂

 

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in book club, fiction, reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holiday Reading

  1. Have a great holiday weekend! I look forward to reading both The Light Between Oceans and Life After Life.

  2. Leeswammes says:

    Happy reading, Suzanne! I loved The House of Special Purpose, and of course, The Light Between Oceans (although I wasn’t as impressed as some other readers). Enjoy your books.

Comments are closed.