Finding Me in France

9781897174944

Finding Me in France by Bobbi French

Published:  2012 by Creative Publishers

Source:  Purchased

Reading Challenge:  Books on France 2013 Reading Challenge

Bobbi French is leading a good life on the surface:  she is a successful psychiatrist, married to a wonderful man, and has everything she seems to need.  Yet something is obviously missing, because in July of 2010 she makes the decision (with her husband) to quit her job, sell her home and move to a small town in France.

Finding Me in France is the account of her first year adjusting to a new home, a new country and a new language all at the same time.  Dealing with just one of these major changes would be an adventure in itself, but all three at once results in book full of great anecdotes that anyone can relate to.  And for me, it made me more interested in seeing rural France; I’ve always been obsessed with Paris but the descriptions of the town in which Bobbi and Neil settled are simply charming.

The book is written as a collection of short essays that I suppose originally appeared as blog posts (which upon reading, I learn that Bobbi and her saintly husband have now relocated to Switzerland!) so they are very easy to read.  There are also some amazing photographs that capture that charming feel I referred to above.

If you love France, you will love this book.  If you are looking to make a change in your life, you will love this book.  If you enjoy reading witty memoirs, you will love this book.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in 2013 Reading Challenges, Canadian lit., essays, Francophilia, memoir and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding Me in France

  1. zibilee says:

    I love books like this because the short nature of the pieces is easy to digest when I am feeling out of sorts or overwhelmed. I also think that the topic would be very entertaining, though I couldn’t imagine ever doing something like this! She is a rather brave woman.

  2. Looks good! Going on the TBR list! Indeed, I am looking to make a change in my life. I am moving to Tennessee in May… from Iowa… and I’ve never lived on my own before!

Comments are closed.