Secret Santas!

I’ve said it before but it bears repeating ….. no matter our age we all turn into kids at Christmas because who doesn’t love receiving gifts?

Funnily enough, I do not get books as gifts from family and friends.  I think they are afraid to buy me something that I already own or have already read; or because my tastes are on the eclectic side they don’t know where to find them.  So that is why I love participating in Secret Santa exchanges with other book lovers because we all speak the same language.

I participated in three Secret Santa exchanges this year:

1.  “Handmade Secret Santa”, organized by Chris Kubica on Twitter (@ChrisKubica).  Yes, this isn’t a book exchange but it is a fun one where you make a gift instead of buying one.  I sent out a box of various bark candy that I made to my recipient, and I received a set of hand-stamped notebooks from Chris himself:

DSC01243

I hope I can think of something worthy of writing/drawing/keeping in them.

2.  Books on the Nightstand: This exchange was organized by Ann Kingman, one of the hosts of the Books on the Nightstand podcast (Still haven’t subscribed?:  What are you waiting for?).  This exchange was done via Elfster, a website specifically for Secret Santa and other similar gift exchanges, and I have to say it made the process easy and a lot of fun.  My Secret Santa, Kate, sent me the following lovely gift:

DSC01244

(there were some chocolates as well, but, um, it was a stressful week)

3.  Europa Holiday Swap:  This exchange was organized by Marie at Boston Bibliophile in her role as the moderator of the Europa Challenge Blog.  Europa Editions are beautiful books as objects but they also encompass such a diverse range of authors and subjects; I couldn’t not participate in this exchange!  Santa was obviously very busy with all of the other good boys and girls, but he did deliver my package today:

DSC01245

Thanks so much Natalie!

It’s been another great year for giving and receiving and I hope that your Christmas was everything you hoped it would be.

 

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Secret Santas!

  1. Isi says:

    They are great presents!!
    Hope you enjoy your new reads and your notebooks!

  2. what great gifts you got! I did the lIbrary thing swap; i didn’t enter the europa challenge swap since I would know who was mailing to me, LOL. I’m glad you’re happy with all your packages!

  3. Leeswammes says:

    You got some wonderful things! I got two books from my wishlist that I’m really pleased with. These secret santa events are great fun!

  4. Alex in Leeds says:

    I didn’t do any swaps this year but I’ve loved seeing everyone reveal what they got. The artwork for the Europas is really eye-catching. 🙂

  5. So glad that the package came in! Enjoy and Happy Holidays!

Comments are closed.