2013 TBR Pile Challenge

2013tbrpilechall

Once again….. my name is Suzanne and I am a bookaholic.

I think the publishers are out to get me.  I have plenty of books, but I am easily distracted by the new and talked-about books that I learn about via other blogs, Twitter, etc.  Some of them I read right away, and others, well, are still on my shelf months (years) after I absolutely HAD to buy them.

So Adam at Roof Beam Reader has this great TBR Pile Challenge, in which you aim to read 12 books that have been on your to read pile for over a year.  This is my third year participating in the challenge, and I’ve yet to complete it; BUT I have gone through a few books that have been sitting around for much too long.

This year’s list:

  1. Ghost Soldiers:  The Epic Account of World War II’s Greatest Rescue Mission by Hampton Sides
  2. Nine Lives:  In Search of the Sacred in Modern India by William Dalrymple
  3. Friendship:  An Expose by Joseph Epstein
  4. The Long Road Home:  The Aftermath of the Second World War by Ben Shephard
  5. Bloodlands:  Europe Between Hitler and Stalin by Timothy Snyder
  6. The Blasphemer by Nigel Farndale
  7. Heidegger’s Glasses by Thaisa Frank
  8. A Soldier of the Great War by Mark Helprin
  9. The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver
  10. All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque
  11. The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas
  12. The Late, Lamented Molly Marx by Sally Koslow

And my two alternate selections:

  1. Mennonite in a Little Black Dress by Rhoda Janzen
  2. The Camel Bookmobile by Masha Hamilton

I need a good incentive to complete the challenge in 2013.  Maybe a new book?  Oh, wait …. that is what got me in trouble in the first place.

Any thoughts on what I have selected?  Looking at it as a list it does seem heavy with war so I hope I don’t get too distraught, but I will be sure to mix in lighter stuff throughout the year.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in 2013 Reading Challenges, bookaholism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 2013 TBR Pile Challenge

  1. Leeswammes says:

    You sound like a paranoid bookaholic but I’m glad you’re doing something about it! I think I never got through The Blasphemer, it’s a write-off in my opinion. 🙂 On the other hand, The Slap and The Lacuna are great reads which I think you’ll enjoy. Is it the size that put you off for so long? The Camel Bookmobile is OK, a quick and easy read if I remember well.

    Now, stay on top of it and get this challenge done!

  2. harvee says:

    Barbara Kingsolver’s book, the Lacuna, is on my list. Good luck with the challenge!

  3. Brittany says:

    I really should do this!! But.. but… there are so many good NEW books!!! Hahah. I really am going to make an attempt at reading books I already have on my shelf though. No more library until I read more books I already own!!
    Good luck with your challenge!

    • bibliosue says:

      Thank you, Brittany. We must convince the publishers to STOP releasing good books until we can all catch up! But that wouldn’t be too much fun would it 🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Brittany, the books on your shelf are on average just as good as the new ones in the shops. I promise! You know how I know? Because the books on your shelves used to be new ones in the shops too. 😉

  4. Isi says:

    😀 I feel the same as you. The bookshop windows are so attractive…
    Good luck with the challenge, hope you get it!
    I’ll think about participating.

  5. I feel your pain – bookaholic here as well. good luck in 2013

  6. How nice to see you are also participating in this challange. I see on your list ‘All quiet on the western front’ by Remarque, and I can tell you that this is one of my favorite books. I hope you will like it as well.
    kind regards,

  7. Impressive list! It would be too war focused for me, but we all have our own tastes, that’s what makes life interesting. I read The Lacuna, before seriously book blogging. It’s a bit long to get in, but persevere, it’s really worth it.
    here is my list: http://wordsandpeace.com/2012/12/02/2013-tbr-pile-reading-challenge/

  8. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are You Reading? | bibliosue

  9. Pingback: January Reading List | bibliosue

Comments are closed.