TLC Book Tour: An Extraordinary Theory of Objects

An Extraordinary Theory of Objects

An Extraordinary Theory of Objects:  A Memoir of an Outsider in Paris by Stephanie Lacava

Published:  2012 by Harper Collins

Source:  Received from publisher for review

What I expected this book to be:  A memoir of an outsider living in Paris

What this book is:  A book about random things that the author comes across as she is living in Paris; and also about her fragile mental state.

It is a pretty book with nice illustrations of the objects discussed, but for me it was not a pleasant one to read at all.  Logically I know it is possible, but I still cannot believe that anyone with an opportunity to live in Paris would dislike everything about it.  I know Lacava was a teenager essentially forced to move there when her father was transferred, but she doesn’t seem to give the city a chance.  A bit too sullen for my taste.

  And then there are the footnotes (descriptions of people, places, or things that piqued Lacava’s interest), which almost made me stop reading because they were so intrusive:

DSC01241

and

DSC01242

are just two examples of footnotes that annoyed me within the first 50 pages.  It did improve towards the end of the book, but they left a bad impression on me.

 So this book wasn’t my cup of tea, but people with a more aesthetic taste than I might enjoy it.  And visit the other stops on this book’s tour for other opinions.

tlc tour host

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to TLC Book Tour: An Extraordinary Theory of Objects

  1. harvee says:

    Sounds like a book that you can pick up any time you are in the mood and not have to read the whole thing at once. I love the picture of the dodo, my favorite extinct animal!

  2. zibilee says:

    I am pretty sure that this would be something that I would dislike as well. I can’t imagine walking through the streets of Paris with a bad attitude, and sketching mushrooms and weird birds. Not for me, this one. Thanks for your candor.

  3. I also can’t imagine being miserable with the opportunity to gallivant through Paris. (Because that is definitely what I would do if I had to move there! Gallivant!) 🙂 The footnotes are surprising as well and I’m not a fan of those. I tend to tolerate them only just a bit for a classic novel, but it gets annoying. But, it’s Paris! I don’t understand the sulkiness.

  4. Leah says:

    Found objects in Paris sounds like an interesting premise, but this doesn’t sound like an enjoyable read at all! I can understand being upset about being forced to move as a teenager, but how could one not be even a little bit excited about moving to Paris?! This sounds like a really annoying book, with the intrusive footnotes and the gloom.

  5. Pingback: Stephanie LaCava, author of An Extraordinary Theory of Objects, on tour December 2012 | TLC Book Tours

  6. Sorry to see that this one didn’t work for you but thanks for sharing your thoughts on this book for the tour.

Comments are closed.