It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.   It is a chance to share with others what you have been reading and what you plan to read.  I haven’t participated in a long time but in my effort to get back into the blogging groove I thought this would be something to get me to post more regularly.

Last week I only finished one book:  The Emperor of Paris by CS Richardson.  I don’t know if I’ll write a full review of it but I did like it, though the first part of the book seems not to go anywhere.  It’s an odd love story between two people in Paris, and regular readers know that I love anything set in Paris.  The story is nice, but the writing is really what kept me reading.

I added two more books to my DNF list:  Sad Desk Salad by Jessica Grose, which was just too superficial for me after only 25 pages (though I love the title); and Rondo by Kazimierz Brandys, which was too complicated for me this week.  I seem to be abandoning more books than I’m finishing lately; I don’t know if that says more about me or the books.

I’m currently reading Annexed by Sharon Dogar, which is a novel about Peter, the boy who was in hiding with Anne Frank.  So far it kind of reads like his own diary of their hiding, and though I don’t believe it is the right word for a book with this subject matter, I am enjoying it.

What are you reading this week?

And don’t forget!  You still have a few days to enter my giveway in Leeswammes’ Literary Giveaway Blog Hop!  I am giving away a copy of Matthew Dicks’ Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend.  Enter here and then check out the other blogs for other great books being given away!

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in DNFs, week in review. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

  1. zibilee says:

    I am reading Falling Together for a tour, and then I am back to The Passage. Sad Desk Salad did sound kind of interesting…to bad it only scratched the surface!

  2. Greg Jonuk says:

    84 pages into Before I Wake. It was laying on it’s back on a library shelf and something compelled be to bring it home. I’m finding it well written and interesting.

    • bibliosue says:

      Who is the author, Greg? I went to look up the book on goodreads but several books with that title came up, most of which I don’t think would be your cup of tea 🙂

  3. Leeswammes says:

    Doing this meme is a good way to get back in the blogging groove. You’re still putting aside some books – well, it’s important that you find books you really enjoy or you won’t enjoy reading in general anymore!

    I’ve been a bit of a grumpy reader recently, but haven’t put anything away. Managed to finish 3 books this week (and another one today). I’ve stopped taking review requests for Leeswammes for now (I’ll still review from publishers if I feel like it, and from Netgalley), I may still take them for my Dutch blog, see how it goes.

    Have a good week!

  4. Paris! it’s a city that is part of my monday reads, too. have a lovely reading week~~ Dorothee http://virtual-notes.blogspot.de/search/label/bookshelf

  5. Jennifer says:

    I’ve never heard of Annexed, it sounds so interesting! Sorry about your DNFs, blech…those always bum me out.

    Hope you have a great week of reading!

    • bibliosue says:

      I’m just about finished, Annexed, Jennifer, and it’s really quite good. I have to go back and re-read The Diary of Anne Frank now.
      I don’t like DNFs either, but I’ve learned life is too short to spend on just so-so books.

Comments are closed.