Book Beginnings on Friday

Book Beginnings on Friday is a meme hosted at Rose City Reader.  It’s really simple:  Share the first sentence of the book you are currently reading and what it means to you.

My beginning this week is from The Emperor of Paris by CS Richardson:

For the gossips of the bakery it becomes irresistible:  the wisps of smoke up their noses, the voices under their windows, the footfalls of curiosity on the move.

This sentence establishes the main setting of the novel:  a bakery in the 8th arrondissement of Paris, located in a building known locally as “the cake slice”.  Something has happened at the bakery, but it is not until the end of the novel that the relevance of that event is revealed.

I have just finished this book.  I have to admit that I found the first 50-75 pages slow going and confusing and I almost gave up on it but I kept going and I really enjoyed it.  The first sentence doesn’t reveal the true nature of the story — it is a love story both among people and for books and reading and it is beautifully written.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in book beginnings, Canadian lit., Francophilia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Beginnings on Friday

  1. I do like a beginning that shows us the setting….this one sounds intriguing. Here’s MY FRIDAY MEMES POST

  2. Deondra says:

    I saw “emperor” and “gossip” and thought “war?”. I guess I haven’t had enough coffee yet, lol. Thank you for sharing your Beginning with us. Here is mine:
    http://library1baby.blogspot.com/2012/10/book-beginnings-swan-thieves.html

  3. Mystica says:

    Thank you for the giveaway. I’d like to be counted in and Book Depository ships free to Sri Lanka!

Comments are closed.