Book Beginnings on Friday

Book Beginnings on Friday is a meme hosted at Rose City Reader.  It’s really simple:  Share the first sentence of the book you are currently reading and what it means to you.

I haven’t participated in this meme for a while, but I’m back with the first sentence of one of my all-time favorites, A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry, which I am currently re-reading:

The Morning Express bloated with passengers slowed to a crawl, then lurched forward suddenly, as though to resume full speed.

This sentence conveys so much about the story that is to come:  lulling people into a sense of security, then taking that away from them.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in book beginnings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book Beginnings on Friday

  1. That is a new title for me. Hope you are enjoying the re-reading.

  2. I like the image of the “bloated” Morning Express.

    Here’s MY FRIDAY MEMES POST

  3. rosecityreader says:

    That book has been on my radar for a while, but I haven’t read it. I like how you can see the theme of the book in the first sentence.

    Welcome back to Book Beginnings on Fridays! I haven’t been around for a while either because I’ve been out of town a lot.

  4. Bloated…sound like the Express is loaded to the gills–not a comfy ride.

    Here’s my Friday Post.

  5. The opening really paints a picture – enjoy.

Comments are closed.