A Visit to the Library

Going to the library for me is as bad as going into a bookstore – worse, because it doesn’t cost me a thing.

On the way home from work tonight I stopped by my local library to pick up a book I had on hold – The Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie, my belated foray into participating in Banned Books Week (I also wanted to read it with Rushdie’s newly released memoir Joseph Anton).  My library (for good or bad) has a drive-through window to pick up held items, and if I was smart I would have just called ahead to have the book ready, or at the very least simply go into the library, approach the front desk, claim my hold, and leave the building quietly.

But I didn’t do that.

Every time I enter the library I always go to the new releases shelf.  And for some reason today I hit the jackpot, because this is what I ended up checking out:

Winter of the World by Ken Follett:  For some reason this was on the shelf even though I had a hold on this one as well; no matter, because I am very excited to read this, the sequel to Fall of Giants which I loved!  It is a “hot” book which means the borrowing period is only two weeks and there are no renewals.

The Headmaster’s Wager by Vincent Lam:  It is unusual to see Canadian literature in my library, so out of loyalty to my home and native land I must check them out when they are there.  This novel is a finalist for the Governor General’s Fiction Award this year, so I think it is definitely worth reading.

The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving by Jonathan Evison:  This book was on my to-read list since I saw its synopsis somewhere on the internet.

Does This Church Make Me Look Fat?  A Mennonite Finds Faith, Meets Mr Right, and Solves Her Lady Problems by Rhoda Janzen:  I have Janzen’s memoir, Mennonite in a Little Black Dress, somewhere on my to-read shelves, but I am really intrigued by the premise of this memoir – trying to find a church and a religion that “fits”.

In Need of a Good Wife by Kelly O’Connor McNees:  I’ve heard a lot of positive buzz about this book on the web, and when I saw it — well what the heck, right?

So whether I’ll get them all read during the two or three week lending period is up for debate but I’ll give it my best shot.  At least I didn’t spend any money ……..

Do any of these books interest you?

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in books, fiction, library_loot, memoir, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Visit to the Library

  1. zibilee says:

    I have a few of these and a bunch of the others look great! I hope that you enjoy them all!

  2. Leeswammes says:

    Recognisable! Except the bit with the drive through pick-up point, we have nothing like that. You can’t even park near the library. Well, in the nearby underground car park, I guess.

    I went to the library yesterday to pick up a reserved book for my son and came back with two books for me. You see, to get to the Reservations shelves, you have to go past the New Books display… Sigh! I got Mark Haddon’s Red House and Sarah McCoy’s The Baker’s Daughter. Worth reading, aren’t they?

    Your books look good. I haven’t read any of them, but most of them have been buzzing around the blogs so it’s nice that you got them already. Happy reading.

    • bibliosue says:

      I have to walk by the checkout desk to get to the New Releases shelf at the library so I really don’t have an excuse 🙂
      I enjoyed The Baker’s Daughter, though I didn’t love it. I can’t wait to see what you think of it.

  3. DoingDewey says:

    Visits to the library are so dangerous that way! I always think I could probably park in the free 20 minute parking at my library, but I do the hour for a dollar just in case and I still barely make it back in time. And I’m also guilty of walking right past the check out desk to do it 🙂

Comments are closed.