Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

I’m not Catholic, but I feel like I need to make a confession:  It has been three weeks since I made my last Readers’ Workout post.

😦

Which is because I haven’t done much in the way of workouts in that time.

😦

And that has to change.

When I finished the 5k at the end of August I allowed myself to take a break from exercising but what should have been only a few days’ break went way too long.

So I went back to the gym Monday.  And it was rough.   It  wasn’t as hard as my first workouts in February when I joined the gym, but my endurance definitely was not as strong as it was a month ago.   And where I initially thought I would take a break from running until the spring and focus on other cardio activities, I now wonder if the discipline required to train for a 5k event is what I need to keep me motivated.  This weekend, I read about a 5k race in my area at the beginning of December and I might register for it.  Yes it will be cold, but since I ran in the 90 degree heat I think it will be a pleasant change.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    I always need some kind of goal to keep me going. I used to use events, but I had your experience of doing the event and then stopping everything. So, now I use monthly goals. Always having an event on the horizon would work, too. Good job getting back at it!

  2. Heather says:

    I need discipline too. Aiming for an event worked for me or having a program that I was following. Otherwise I’d wander around the gym without a clear goal of what I was going to do.

  3. zibilee says:

    I also did the same thing for a few months, and it was a lot harder for me to get back in shape when I finally got moving. I can sympathize with you, but I think registering for the next 5K is a great way to provide yourself with motivation. You go girl!!

  4. Leeswammes says:

    It’s hard to keep motivated when there is no particular reason, isn’t it. Signing up for the next 5K is a good idea. Get back into action!

  5. Greg Jonuk says:

    Give’er hard Sue!

Comments are closed.