BBAW Interview: Meet The Book Bunny

Happy Book Blogger Appreciation Week — the week where book bloggers celebrate, well, themselves.

I frankly haven’t been too active on the book blogosphere lately with other things going on, but I did sign up to participate in the book blogger interview, where we are paired up with another blogger and attempt to get to know each other virtually.

I was matched up with Sarah from The Book Bunny.  Sarah is a student at Gallaudet University studying Elementary Education (with a potential English minor — ideal for a reader!) and she blogs about YA.  I was a bit stumped for questions but here is what I came up with, along with her answers:

1. I know little to nothing about YA literature; what is it that sparked your interest in it?

It interests me because it’s all of what I read for the majority of my life. It’s a huge genre with subgenre inside of it. If you like comedy you can get that, or if you want something that will mess with your emotions you can find that. Only you don’t have to worry about seriously sexual scenes being thrown in or have to worry about reading being complicated, exc…Bottom line I just enjoy Young Adult literature.

2. What got you started in blogging?

To be honest I stumbled across blogging by accident. I mean, I knew what it was but I hadn’t ever thought of doing it myself. I was always afraid of people reading my writing or my opinions but I found that blogging is not as hard as I thought it would be. It’s not like in English class where the teacher grades what you’ve written. I love blogging. Reading and writing and making new friends. It’s great.

3. For someone new to YA do you have any book recommendations?

Before I recommend I would just like to admit upfront that I am biased. Seeing as I have no idea what genre you like I am going to base this recommendation off myself. But I would recommend the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld. It’s the series that really got me into reading.

Regular readers know that I am not a YA person.  At all.  But I did read Sarah’s review of Uglies and I admit it does sound interesting.  I’m not going to rush out immediately and buy it, but the next time I am at the library I might just check it out.  Thank you Sarah!

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in book blogger appreciation week, book blogs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to BBAW Interview: Meet The Book Bunny

  1. Leeswammes says:

    Fun interview! Sarah is so right, you don’t get marks for blogging so you don’t have to worry about getting it right or not. It’s just fun to do. Now, as soon as they make blogging a requirement at school… (oh, let’s not think about that, I don’t actually think they would).

  2. zibilee says:

    I have The Uglies series, and think that they are great books. My daughter has read them time and again, and I need to reread them. I also love that Sarah finds blogging so satisfying and that she doesn’t feel pressured when writing. Great interview today!

  3. LadyInRead says:

    I got into YA just recently.. and The Uglies series seem interesting.. am going to add it to my TBR.. and loved the interview and discovering new bloggers//

  4. Uglies has been really popular at the bookstore where I work. I’ve been considering taking a look at it!

  5. thebookbunny says:

    Thanks so much Suzanne! =]

Comments are closed.