Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

Well, I have completed my 5k and I was able to achieve my goal of my time equal to my age.  In fact I actually came in just under my age:  42 minutes, 55.7 seconds to be exact.  I was last in my age group and third last overall but who cares — I FINISHED.

I spent the day spending time with my nieces and nephews both inside and outside; and by the time I had to start getting ready to leave for the race I was getting nervous and started to panic because, really, what had I gotten myself into?  I can’t run 3 miles after a full day of running around after the little ones (those of you with children – God Bless You!).  I briefly thought about bailing out, but because my brothers, their wives and their children had come a long way to support me, I knew I couldn’t do that so I put on my workout clothes and running shoes and we all headed to the race.

The race started at 7 pm and thankfully the sky was overcast, but it was still unseasonably hot and humid.  My brother, sister-in-law, nephew, and my co-worker/coach lined up at the starting line with me, and when the starting gun sounded they stayed with me for a while but they eventually set off on their own pace — I wasn’t about to slow them down.  Just before I hit the 1 mile mark I was really discouraged when I saw the first group of runners already heading back toward the finish line, but not long after that I saw my next door neighbors on the sidelines cheering for me, and that helped me a lot.

I walked more than I wanted to, I think because of the humid conditions, but I can confidently say I ran at least 2/3 of the course; most importantly I ran to the finish line, where my family and friends were there to cheer me through it.  I was also greeted by this sign that my niece made:

I said that if it takes me running a 5k to get to see all my nieces and nephews at the same time I will do them a lot more often.  I think I will give my running legs a break though and move to other cardio options for the fall and winter, and plan to run in the 5k my town puts on in the early spring.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. Leeswammes says:

    Well done, Suzanne! I was thinking of you on Friday although maybe not at the exact time. Great to hear that you made it – I enjoyed reading your report.

  2. zibilee says:

    Woohoo! Congratulations! So glad that you were able to complete the race, and have your family there with you!

  3. joyweesemoll says:

    Woohoo! So proud of you! I think you may be surprised how well other cardio options over the winter will help with your running in the spring. I’m looking forward to hearing about what options you explore over the next few months.

  4. Greg Jonuk says:

    Kudos Sue. I’m proud of you. It’s great that you dedicated yourself to this challenge and overcame your doubt and anxiety to succeed. Great work.

  5. YES!!!! Congratulations and I’m so proud of you, too!! Pat yourself on the back, take some time to rest and then…what’s next after the town 5k in the spring? Another 5k? 10k? It’s fun, isn’t it? 🙂

Comments are closed.