Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

I got back on the running wagon last week and logged just under 6.5 miles.  I managed one full 5k on the treadmill and a few shorter runs and I felt pretty good.

Which is good because my 5k is on Friday!  I’m a little bit nervous because the weather is forecasted to be 90 degrees but since the race doesn’t start until 7 p.m. the sun shouldn’t be too hot and hopefully the temperature will be milder by that time.  I am aiming to make my finish time in minutes equal to my age (Would you believe 29? — no I didn’t think so — it’s 43) which is challenging but I think doable.

So on Friday evening, when you’re sitting down to dinner or getting ready for bed, send me a virtual cheer; I will need all the help I can get!

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. Fiona says:

    Good luck for Friday, you’ll do fab! Besides, running with a bunch of other people will make you do loads better then you ever expected.

  2. You are going to do SO GREAT, I can’t wait to hear all about it! And like many told me before my first 5k earlier this month, watch out! You’re going to get HOOKED!

    Make sure you are hydrated the day before and that day, especially if your run is going to be in the evening. It should definitely be cooler by then, but sometimes the road hasn’t cooled enough like it would for a morning run when it has the whole dark night to cool it down. Just stay hydrated, and if you wear a hat when you run, make sure it’s a breathable running hat, not a standard baseball cap or anything like that. Wear cool-breathing tech-wear shirts and shorts so that it’s cooler on your body. AND HAVE FUN!!

  3. Leeswammes says:

    Good luck on Friday! I’ll probably be fast asleep when you’re running but I’ll send good thoughts during the day – they have to travel a while anyway, so they should be getting there on time for the race!

  4. zibilee says:

    Good luck! I know that you will do wonderfully, and I am going to check back eagerly and see how things went for you! I just know that you can do it! Have a great time!

  5. It looks like you are all set for Friday! Woohoo! I’ll think of you and look forward to next week’s report.

Comments are closed.