Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

As I mentioned in my Sunday post, I was lazy last week; and when I got my status e-mail from daily mile it was confirmed:  I did not log any miles last week.  NONE!

The 5k is now only 10 days away and I am by no means in good enough shape to skip a week of training and not have it affect me.        There is nothing I can do about it now except get my running shoes on and get moving.

I keep telling myself that my only goal for the 5k is to finish, but is that enough?  Frankly all I need to do to finish it is walk the whole thing and not worry about the pain in my shins and my hips and the self-doubt that comes about when I’m running and I think I look like an idiot — but where is the challenge in that?

I have family who when I mentioned that I would be running my first 5k essentially re-arranged their vacation plans to come visit me and provide moral support and encouragement on the day of the race.  I know that they will be cheering regardless of whether I walk or run, but if it was me who had travelled I’d be disappointed to watch just a walk.

So I’m off to the gym to get my running legs back.

7:30 pm UPDATE:  I’m back from the gym and an 1.8 mile run.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. Fiona says:

    Ack! Good luck but don’t overdo it and get yourself an injury. You can only ever do your best now and you’ll find a cheering crowd really motivating.

    Good luck!

  2. joyweesemoll says:

    Yay for getting back to it. I’ll cheer you on from here!

  3. Leeswammes says:

    I still believe you’ll be fine. You know you *can* do it, so you *will* do it. With everything else happening, you may not even notice every single step you make. And whatever you do, make sure you RUN past the place where your family is watching! :-)

  4. zibilee says:

    You can do it! I know that it will be difficult to get yourself into that kind of pace and length, but I also have the faith that you will do it. Be proud of what you have accomplished already, and what you will accomplish as well!

  5. I do not know how I missed your post, so sorry! I am so excited for you and you will have a blast! What I found on my first 5k was that people are extremely motivating, especially at the end, so definitely run that part towards the finish line. You will fall in love with the energy and the crowd and have a blast! Enjoy, enjoy and I know you will do great! Good luck, I can’t wait to read how much you had!!!!

Comments are closed.