Book Beginnings on Friday

Book Beginnings on Friday is a meme hosted at Rose City Reader.  It’s really simple:  Share the first sentence of the book you are currently reading and what it means to you.

My beginning this week is from The World We Found by Thrity Umrigar:

The tooth broke three days after she received the awful news.

 I have mentioned before how I love beginnings that create questions and this sentence gave me several to ponder:  Whose tooth broke?  What is the awful news?  Why did the news cause such a reaction? 

  The first two questions are answered quickly, but I think the third one is what will help form the narrative of the story.  It’s a novel about friendship and I foresee a description of all that entails – both the good and the bad.  I’m only two chapters in so far, and I can’t wait to continue reading.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in book beginnings, book thoughts, fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Beginnings on Friday

  1. Chris says:

    Maybe the news was so stressful the character started grinding their teeth.

    Here’s my Book Beginning.

  2. Imagine if you teeth broke every time something bad happened!! :O I love the opening though! Thanks for sharing!
    My FF Post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

  3. Leeswammes says:

    I really loved this book, hope you will too!

  4. Diana Leigh says:

    A broken tooth on top of awful news? Ugh! Great beginning. :)
    My BB Post

  5. Brooke says:

    The World We Found was one of my absolute favorite reads this year. I really hope you enjoy the rest of your journey through this one!

  6. mostraum says:

    Great beginning. It’s always a joy when a book has such a good opening sentence.

  7. zibilee says:

    I can’t wait to read this one! I love opening sentences that grab you right from the start, and this is one of the authors that I love to read, no matter the circumstances. Great post today!

Comments are closed.