Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

I finally got myself a pair of new running shoes on Saturday and tried them out yesterday – 2.27 miles and my feet didn’t bother me at all.  I went to a running store near my home and the sales person recommended I go a half size bigger than my normal shoe size.  Surprisingly that made a lot of difference in how my feet felt as I ran.  I choked a bit when I saw the price (I’ve not spent that much on any shoes in my entire life), but in the long run (pun! Ha!) it will be money well spent. 

In other news, I had a reassessment with the personal trainer I’d been seeing for the past few months to check on the progress I’ve made since I started working out semi-regularly in March.  My measurements and BMI are down a bit (I still have a potato chip problem that needs an intervention) but the stat I found most surprising was my resting metabolic rate, the amount of calories you burn just from regular bodily functions and normal activity.  When I started out this was at about 1200 calories a day, and now it is at just over 2000.   Of course that doesn’t mean I can stop exercising, but it’s nice to know that my body is working more efficiently.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. Leeswammes says:

    Sounds like you’re doing well with exercising. The shoes is good news. I also bought some (daily) shoes a while ago that were a big chunk out of the budget, but they’re so good!

    Keep it up!

  2. zibilee says:

    Wow, what an accomplishment! I would be so excited if my calorie burning became more efficient! I am also glad you got the shoes. Good shoes are key, and I know that when I got my first pair of really good walking shoes, it made a huge difference. Keep up the good work!

  3. That’s really great that you’re seeing measurable results in improved metabolism! I hope the new shoes help you to keep making progress.

    I ultimately had to abstain from potato chips. For me, it was a case of “one is too many and a thousand is never enough.” I realized it was all about quantity for me. I’m not even interested in one potato chip — I’m only interested in a huge bag full and the whole mindless state that went with it, I suppose. My single exception, now, is house-made chips in taverns. I seem to be able to eat a half dozen or so of those without invoking cravings. Plus, I don’t have the opportunity very often so it’s kind of self-limiting.

    Joy’s Book Blog

    • bibliosue says:

      Yeah, Joy, I really need to cut the potato chips cold turkey. Like you I’m usually mindless when I’m eating them and end up disgusted when I see that I’ve finished a bag without even noticing. Well, today is as good a day to start as any….

  4. Yay, great news on the body running more efficiently! And while I don’t have a potato chip problem, I have an ice cream problem that I’m getting better at controlling with smoothies. Stil not quite the same, but ya know how it goes.

    I bought a grand pair of running shoes that made me nauseous when I purchased them, but like you, I’m glad I made that investment. My feet and legs feel much, much better!

    • bibliosue says:

      Yes, Natalie, as I mentioned earlier, you get what you pay for and it definitely applies to running shoes. I am not quite to the point where I’m willing to spend $50-$60 on a pair of shorts though.
      It’s funny — I like ice cream but I don’t miss it if I don’t have it . I have a salt tooth instead of a sweet tooth.

  5. Fiona says:

    Hell, running shoes are expensive… but personally, worth it. There has been a documentary on lately that questions sports products (shoes included but mostly drinks) http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-18863293

    Which briefly recommended that you run bare foot and that expensive shoes aren’t worth it. Personally, cheap shoes = painful feet whether they are running or not. I certainly feel the difference at having forked out a bit…

    Saying that however, next time I might be a little more wise as to what my feet need when running and maybe be able to shop around a bit more and not spend quite so much as I did.

    That article/documentary which you can see if you’re in the UK briefly recommended barefoot running although doesn’t once mention how you’re supposed to do that – only criticising one pair of ‘bare foot running shoes’ in the process and never mentioning any of the others like Vibram 5 Fingers which do look quite good but holy cow expensive.

    I admit I am a little curious about those shoes as I do think that if you support your foot so much with all this padding, how is it meant to grow stronger?

    Anyway – congrats at seeing a real improvement in your own body I think that is great when you actually see (or feel) a real improvement.

    My devil food has been biscuits. Not that my aim is actually to lose weight, but I’m sure eating a whole packet of biscuits in one sitting does not contribute well to my overall health and fitness! I have kinda given up on those unhealthy binges and I do feel better.

  6. Heather says:

    That sounds like great results.

Comments are closed.