Book Beginnings on Friday

Book Beginnings on Friday is a meme hosted at Rose City Reader.  It’s really simple:  Share the first sentence of the book you are currently reading and what it means to you.

My beginning this week is from The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian:

When my twin brother and I were small children, we would take turns sitting on our grandfather’s lap.

 Why I like this sentence:  it gives me the sense that some family stories are about to be told.  Given that the novel is about the Armenian genocide I doubt that these stories will all be happy ones, though.

 I’ve only just started the book so I’m not sure exactly where this sentence will take me, but I’m looking forward to the journey.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in book beginnings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book Beginnings on Friday

  1. Chris says:

    That is a nice opening. I hope you enjoy the book!

    Here’s my Book Beginning.

  2. zibilee says:

    I have heard good things about this book. Great snippet. I think I need to read this one!

  3. Sitting on Grandpa’s lap is always a good memory!

    Here are my Friday Memes.

  4. rosecityreader says:

    With the story coming, that does seem to create a false sense of coziness.

    Thanks for taking part in Book Beginnings on Friday!

  5. This one will be a tearjerker at the least, based on your description.

    Here’s mine. Plus I have a giveaway of my featured book starting tomorrow: http://guiltlessreading.blogspot.ca/2012/07/friday-56-book-beginnings-lovely.html

Comments are closed.