Readers’ Workouts

Y’all know that I’ve started running with the goal of completing a 5k race at the end of August.  And of course since I have running on the brain when I don’t have reading on the brain, I have started finding various running blogs that I can look to for motivation.

One of these blogs is This Chick Will Run, which is written by Natalie, who also blogs at Coffee and a Book Chick, a book blog that I regularly visit and enjoy.  She has also just started a running habit, and I take a lot from reading her posts and identifying with her struggles.  It’s nice to know that it isn’t just me!

Anyways, through her blog I discovered Readers’ Workouts meme which is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges; and since one can never have too much support (and in my case, accountability) I thought I’d participate.

Today in Chicagoland it was 100 degrees and humid; and according to the 5k training plan I’m following I was to run 1.5 miles.  I need to get comfortable with running outside but today just was not the day for that, so I went to the gym and the trusty old treadmill.  I managed 1.72 miles in 25 minutes and even with the air-conditioned comfort I was still sweating buckets.

I wish the weather would cool off so that I could run more outside.  The trail that I use to run/walk near my house is not lit at all so I am not crazy about using it in the early morning or later evening even when its cooler.  The gym is certainly a blessing, but sadly I don’t think they will let me run the 5k race on the treadmill!

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. Heat definitely makes working out a challenge. Good for you for finding an alternative.

    Welcome to Readers’ Workouts!

    • bibliosue says:

      Thank you Joy. I do need to get into a routine of running outside but I’m just not fit enough (yet!) to cope with exercising in the heat.

  2. Good luck to you. I’d much rather be outside than on a treadmill…they make me feel like a hamster on a wheel…LOL

    • bibliosue says:

      Thank you Diane. The treadmill isn’t really my favorite piece of equipment either, but I figure I have to start somewhere. As long as I have something decent to listen to on my iPod I’m good.

  3. heather says:

    I’m so bad at running on a treadmill. I’m always impressed by people who can go miles on them and not go insane!

  4. zibilee says:

    You aren’t the only one running nowadays. Two of my favorite bloggers and good friends have started running, and are training for a marathon as well. Good Luck to you! I know how hard this can be!

  5. You are too kind and thanks for linking my blogs to your post! I’ve been struggling lately because of a back/sciatica issue, but today is the first day I feel like it’s improving. I am crossing my fingers that I might be able to go to Hot Yoga at least, which will get me stretching.

    I found that I really enjoy running as soon as the sun got much lower in the sky, even running at around 8 p.m. I thought at first I’d be wired and not be able to go to sleep, but I discovered that it was fantastic; by the time I did head to bed around 11 or so, I’d be completely ready!

    Good luck with your journey and you know I’ll be cheering you on!!

    • bibliosue says:

      Thank you Natalie, and I’m glad to hear your back is feeling better.
      Once the weather gets milder I might try to run some more in the evenings, even if just around my neighborhood. Between the exercise and the fresh air I do not think sleep will be a problem 🙂

Comments are closed.