Book Beginnings on Friday

Book Beginnings on Friday is a meme hosted at Rose City Reader.  It’s really simple:  Share the first sentence of the book you are currently reading and what it means to you.

My beginning this week is from The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh:

For eight years I dreamed of fire.

 I like sentences that instantly raise questions.  Who is the “I”?  Why are they dreaming of fire?  Why do they feel it necessary to mention this fact as a means of introduction?

 I am only on chapter 8 of this book, and I have determined the “who” and am starting to find out “why”, but unfortunately these answers have not held much interest for me.  The subject nature of the book (the foster care system in America) is naturally bleak, and perhaps I’m just not in the “right” mood to appreciate it right now (I’ve heard so many good things about this book).  But it is my book club’s selection this month so I will keep reading with an open mind in the hopes that the curiosity awakened by that first sentence will be revived.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in book beginnings, fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Book Beginnings on Friday

  1. Amber says:

    …someone who dreamed of fire…how ambivalent. Is it about destruction or starting over? maybe both. Some sort of transformation of a person involved in the foster care system? Speculation over.

    Sorry its not very interesting. I hate it when that happens.

  2. Love that opener…and I adored the book! Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY FRIDAY MEMES POST

  3. Chris says:

    Maybe they’re cold.

    Here’s my Book Beginning.

  4. zibilee says:

    It’s a very sad book, but one that I have not forgotten. I loved this book for all it’s brokenness and pain, but also for the hope that lingered in the end. I do hope that you end up enjoying it. It’s a good choice for a book club. Lots to think about and talk about.

  5. pburt says:

    I had mixed feelings after reading the book and unfortunately missed the book group meeting where they discussed the novel. I think I would have benefited from the discussion. i hope you share what your group thinks of it.

  6. I think that would be too heavy a read for me. I like light and fluffy. Here is my post:
    Book Beginnings

  7. mostraum says:

    It’s a great opening sentence and I really hope the interest will come back to you.

  8. In my law practice, I often represent victims of abuse in foster homes. They are some of the most heartbreaking cases I work on. I don’t know if I could read the book, since I read to escape my work!

    Rayme Waters – the author of my Book Beginnings book – guest posted on Rose City Reader today, explaining how the heroines of 19th Century literature inspired her debut novel, The Angels’ Share.

    It will give you a much different idea about the book than the opening sentence.

    Thanks for participating in Book Beginnings!

Comments are closed.