Sitting Around on a Sunday

Well the heat has finally broken here in Chicagoland.  After four days of 100 degree heat the temperature today is supposed to be a much more tolerable 85 degrees.  Sadly there is still no sign of rain and everything outside is dried and brown, but hopefully that will come soon.  At least now one can go outside without feeling like you are stepping into a furnace.

And with that I am going to make an attempt at running outside this morning before the sun gets too warm.  It is just under eight weeks until my first 5k and I need to mix outdoor running with what I have been doing on the treadmill at the gym.  I’m still nervous about being able to do this, but as long as I take the next eight weeks to train I think (hope) I will finish, and that’s my goal.

And I was thrilled to find out this week that my running mentor – my sister-in-law – will be coming from Winnipeg to run the 5k with me, along with my brother, my 10 year-old niece and 8 year-old nephew (and my 6 year-old niece will be our cheerleader).  I always love to see my rugrats (that’s what I call them as a group) but this visit will be extra special because they are essentially visiting just to provide the moral support.

What am I reading right now?  I just started The Cat’s Table by Michael Ondaatje on Friday which is reading like a boy’s adventure story to me (with beautiful language of course).  And today I started Paris My Sweet by Amy Thomas which is providing my Paris fix for now.    Because the last few days have been too darn hot I have had no desire to sit in front of the computer but with the milder temperatures I hope to get back on the blogging roll I had been on for a few weeks.

Enjoy your Sunday!

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness, random reading thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sitting Around on a Sunday

  1. Leeswammes says:

    Glad the temperature is more bearable. We had a lovely week but now it’s raining. Rain and sun is great for the weeds in the garden. I did some weeding yesterday but today it’s too wet.

    Don’t feel like going to the gym, but if there’s a dry spell I may take a walk or bicycle ride.

    How nice you have a support group coming over especially for your 5K run! I’m sure you’ll manage it, you’ve been so good with practising.

    Have a great Sunday!

  2. pburt says:

    Good luck with your training and I hope the weather remains bearable for running. Enjoy Cat’s Table – I though it was a very good read.

  3. zibilee says:

    It’s hot here too, and there is just so much humidity that it just sucks to be outside. I need to get some walking in, but I just can’t seem to get out there and get going. Your temps have been much higher than ours, so I kind of know how you feel, but not exactly. I hope the running goes smoothly and that you are able to get in a few miles before it becomes too hot. Also, the family coming with you sounds awesome and very inspiring. I hope that they have fun cheering you on!

  4. Donna says:

    I’m your neighbor from Oak Park. Isn’t it amazing how 85 felt “cool” after last week. But I think we’re going to get the sweltering stuff again. Good luck with your running. Don’t overdo it when it gets hot.

Comments are closed.