Reading to Cool Off By

(yes, I know that isn’t grammatically correct.)

Like many parts of the country, Chicagoland is experiencing temperatures hotter than you-know-where.  Today the temperature peaked at 97 degrees and with the humidity it felt even warmer.  It is just not comfortable to be outside for any length of time.  I’m not one to have the air-conditioning on all the time, but right now it is the only way to go.

So I got to thinking (!) about books with cold settings that might temporarily let me escape the heat, if only in my mind.  I took a brief survey of the books on my shelves and came up with three:

It seems there are a lot more books with warm weather settings; I get that, I know most people would rather be sitting on a beach than trying to thaw out from shovelling the driveway.  But I am not most people.  I want to feel cold!

Does anyone have suggestions for cold reads?

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in random reading thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Reading to Cool Off By

  1. pburt says:

    Hypothermia by Arnaldur Indridason – set in Iceland, morose detective, good mystery.

  2. Judith says:

    How about The Snow Child (Eowyn Ivey) or Caribou Island (David Vann)? You probably read one or the other already. They’re both pretty cold!

  3. zibilee says:

    I would also recommend The Snow Child, as that is my current listen, and it’s wonderful! It’s such a gentle and wonderful book, full of the arctic blasts that you need right now! A lot of the others sound good too!

  4. Child 44 by Tom Rob Smith and City of Thieves by David Benioff will give anyone the chills! 🙂

Comments are closed.