Sitting Around on a Sunday — the Lapsed Reading Challenge Edition

In re-organizing my bookshelves after my husband “tidied’ them up for me (with the best of intentions, I know), it struck me at how poorly I am doing on the reading challenges I was so motivated to start at the beginning of the year.  Of course, it’s not that I haven’t been reading; I guess I’ve just been distracted by the new books that come my way.  I’ve read a few challenge books, but I’ve not written reviews for most of the ones I have read, so that is a problem too.

So with the beginning of the second half of the year, I am going to make a mid-year resolution to focus on reading challenges and make a valiant effort to complete at least some of them by year’s end.  I am taking my summer book buying embargo seriously, so I won’t have those distractions, at least for the short term (but I will see how long I can go without making a book purchase, just to test myself).  I do have a few books I am scheduled to review in July and August, and I am participating in Paris in July, but apart from that no other reading obligations.  I can do this!

Here are the reading challenges I started at the beginning of the year (with links to my intro posts) and my current status on each of them:

  1. The Southern Literature Challenge:   I committed to reading four books set in the South, and actually this one I’ve almost completed!  I’ve read and reviewed A Land More Kind than Home by Wiley Cash, Crooked Letter Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin, and I’m almost done with Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell, so I only have to complete one more; and thanks to Booktopia I have several choices to get that done.
  2. A-Z Book Challenge:  I have completed five books I had listed for this challenge, but have only posted reviews for two of them – Postcards from a Dead Girl by Kirk Farber and Wingshooters by Nina Revoyr.  If I get desperate, I suppose I could change a few of the books I’ve listed for ones I’ve already read, but I will try to stay true to my original list.
  3. European Reading Challenge:  Oops, I have not read any of the books on my original list 😦
  4. Wishlist Challenge:  I have read three books for this challenge, but have only reviewed two  – The Art of Eating In  by Cathy Erway and Madame Proust and the Kosher Kitchen by Kate Taylor.  A few of these books I do not yet have, so I will use the library for those ones.
  5. 2012 TBR Pile Challenge:  I have read three books for this challenge, but have only reviewed one (again, Postcards from a Dead Girl).
  6. 2012 Back to the Classics Challenge:  Another challenge with nothing yet read.

It looks like I have my work cut out for me.  But I have six months, so anything is possible, right?

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sitting Around on a Sunday — the Lapsed Reading Challenge Edition

  1. Judith says:

    Looks like your well on target for some of the challenges and not so good on the others. The Wishlist challenge is the one I’m organising I think, and for that, I’ve only read 2 out of 12 myself, which is embarrassing! The A-Z, I read A-J and have a hard time finding a K-book. I’m reading them in order, but I have not set books to start with. So, a little looser than how you’re doing it, but I better get over that K fast or else I may not make it!

    Good luck with the challenges, I think overall you’re not doing badly.

  2. christina says:

    This is the first year that I didn’t participate in reading challenges (I wanted to do more readalongs) and I sorta missed them.

    • bibliosue says:

      What I like about the reading challenges is that they get me to pull books from my shelves that have been there a bit too long. Even though I’m slacking this year, I think I would miss them too if I didn’t participate.

  3. zibilee says:

    I seem to always have bad luck with challenges, that’s why I don’t do very many. I wish you a lot of luck with the ones that you are doing, and hope that you can continue to do well with them. I know how hard it can be to stick to a challenge when new books are coming your way almost everyday!

  4. Leslie says:

    I’m doing well on all my challenges except one. I’m failing miserably with the TBR Pile Challenge. Once a book gets on the shelf I tend to forget about it. And it’s not like I don’t want to read these books, I do. Maybe I need to pile them up on my table like I do with the review books so I’m reminded of them.

    • bibliosue says:

      I had my challenge books set aside in piles until my dear husband did his tidying bit. But like you they do get buried when a new book (or two) get placed on top of those piles

Comments are closed.