Sitting Around on a Sunday

I’m still on a bit of a Booktopia high and I’m in a reading frenzy.  I am in the middle of five (!) books right now and they are all interesting so I try to allot my reading time to each of them.  Two of them are of related topics (Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell and Margaret Mitchell’s Gone with the Wind:  A Bestseller’s Odyssey from Atlanta to Hollywood by Ellen F. Brown and John Wiley) and the other three (The Flight of Gemma Hardy by Margot Livesey, The Tea Lords by Hella S. Haasse, and The American Way of Eating by Tracie McMillan) are all different enough where I don’t get them confused.

Still, it’s a lot of books to have on the go at one time.  I am enjoying all of them so I don’t want to put any aside, but I do have some books on the to-read pile where I’ve committed to review for blog tours in July so something has to give.  The phrase “So Many Books, So Little Time” has never rang truer.

While I was away at Booktopia my husband took it upon himself to organize my bookshelves.  All that means is that they are in neater piles on the shelves and on the floor, but where I had my own strange system of piling the books based on when I would read them now I can’t find anything quickly!    I really need an intervention — my name is Suzanne and I am a bookaholic.

Last week Kim at Sophisticated Dorkiness wrote about a book buying ban she is imposing upon herself for the summer and I think I am going to join her.  I have enough books to probably last me the next 10 summers, and though I won’t stop adding to my to-read list I will save myself the headache of buying a book now that I realistically will not read for months.

Of course, you all could help by not reading and recommending great books, but I know better than to ask that. 🙂

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in book buying, bookaholism, random reading thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sitting Around on a Sunday

  1. Leslie says:

    More than three books at a time and I get a little disoriented, unless they are non-fiction. I hear you about the full reading schedule. I went to LitFest and BookFest and browsed and enjoyed only. I didn’t buy any books because, as you said, I wouldn’t read them for months.

    I had to laugh at your husband organizing your shelves. My husband would never move one of my books much less organize the shelves.

  2. Judith says:

    It’s nice that you have so many great books to read! Still, I think I’d read one or two and really get into them before continuing with the others. But hey, everyone their own way.

    How nice your husband took care of your shelves… and broke down your system. With 5 books on the go, it’s not an immediate problem, though!

  3. josje says:

    Ik should like to read Crooked Letter, because the prescription of the book sounds good!

  4. whheeee booktopia! one of these days i hope to be able to go to one. 🙂 lucky you!

  5. DoingDewey says:

    Wow! I don’t even like to read two books at once, much less 5. Although I am beginning to with there were more of me so I could read more books simultaneously – there really never is enough time 🙂

Comments are closed.