Book Beginnings on Friday

Book Beginnings on Friday is a meme hosted at Rose City Reader.  It’s really simple:  Share the first sentence of the book you are currently reading and what it means to you.

My beginning this week is from The Flight of Gemma Hardy by Margot Livesey:

We did not go for a walk on the first day of the year.

I’m not too far into the book yet, but when I read this sentence I got the sense that routines that have always been followed are about to change.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in book beginnings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Beginnings on Friday

  1. Judith says:

    I hope you’ll enjoy this. I did. It’s based on Jane Eyre, but I didn’t remember too much of that story, which didn’t matter. I love it how it’s set in a more modern time.

    Yes, that first sentence does say more than it says!

  2. This one has been on my TBR list for awhile, as I so enjoyed another book by this author (The House on Fortune Street). In this opener, we do get the sense that everything is about to change.

    Here’s MY FRIDAY MEMES POST

  3. Maria D. says:

    I’d never heard of this book before your post. I love the way the book begins. Adding it to my wishlist.

    Here’s my Friday Meme Post

  4. Chris says:

    I like your interpretation of the first line. I can’t think of any other. Being based on Jane Eyre, as Judith says, I’m curious to read this.

    Here’s my Book Beginnings.

  5. I read this book last year and really enjoyed it, I hope you do too.

  6. I’ve heard good things about this book. The opening sentence sounds ominous to me.

    Thanks for participating in Book Beginnings!

  7. Kristin T. says:

    I’ve heard great things about this book…it’s on my tbr list and I’m hoping to get to it soon!

    Here’s my Book Beginnings.

Comments are closed.