Armchair BEA Day 3 — “Real Life” Experience

For me, blogging is a hobby; an extension of my passion for books and reading. I do receive some books from publishers and participate in the odd blog tour here and there, but the majority of the books I review for my blog are those I have bought myself or have borrowed from my local library.  Of course, it would be nice to have a blog with hundreds of daily hits, but frankly that would require more of my time than I’m willing to spend.

So I’m not a blogger who maintains any affiliate relationships either online or in real life.  I do have a great relationship with my local independent bookstore, and there may be an opportunity to work with them soon, but for now I’m quite happy to work on my blog when I want and how I want.

However, as purely a reader, one of the best experiences I have ever had was last April at the first Books on the Nightstand Readers’ Retreat in Manchester, Vermont.  Unlike something like BEA, where the focus is on the business of books and is huge in scope, the retreat was much more intimate and was all about readers and the joys of reading.  Apart from interacting with some of the attendees online, I didn’t know anyone when I arrived, but once we started talking about books any unease disappeared and everyone became fast friends.

I’ve mentioned it already this week, but I am lucky enough to be attending another Books on the Nightstand retreat (renamed Booktopia) next week in Oxford, Mississippi, and I can’t wait to reconnect with some old friends and make new ones.  For my blog, it will give me a great post topic as well as a whole bunch of new books to read and review.

(And I’ll say it again — if you don’t already subscribe to the Books on the Nightstand podcast stop reading this blog and do so right now!)

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in armchair bea, book festivals, bookstores, reading retreat, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Armchair BEA Day 3 — “Real Life” Experience

  1. Marnise says:

    Book retreats!!! thank you so much for mentioning this! I had no idea these existed. I’m defintely heading right to the site.

    http://marnise.blogspot.com/2012/06/armchair-bea-positive-experience-with.html

  2. I love Books On the Nightstand podcasts. The retreats sound like so much fun!

  3. Judith says:

    I think the retreat must be one of the best things a book lover can do. It sounds absolutely fantastic. Have a great time!

    I don’t follow BotN because I’m not a listening person – I don’t think I have the patience to listen (I did try, once).

  4. How lucky that you are attending two of the three Booktopia’s! Have fun!

  5. Leslie says:

    I’ve heard of Books on the Nightstand but I had no idea there was a book retreat. I guess I don’t listen to the podcasts often enough.

  6. I will check it out! And yes, we have the same blogging story about reviewing your own books. I would love to attend to a book retreat once but sadly, there are no such things in our country as far as I know.

    My entry to the ArmchairBEA topic networking

  7. Alley says:

    Booktopia sounds lovely! And that’s great that you were able to make fast friends there. I’m always nervous about going to events where I don’t know anyone

  8. I wonder if I could work with my local library on a book retreat? Thanks for posting about them, it sound like a great idea.

  9. That sounds like a fun bookish retreat! I don’t know that I could ever handle the craziness and too many people of BEA, so that sounds about perfect for me. And I think connections with local indies are so great – if only I lived a bit closer to mine 🙂

  10. I would respond but I’m busy subscribing to the podcast! (Great post!)

  11. I haven’t stepped out much offline either – and was perfectly happy – but I must say today at BEA was one of my favorite bookish experiences. And a bookish retreat sounds even more awesome!!!

  12. .Ambur. says:

    That retreat sounds so fun! 😀 it’s a bit out of my range being in Canada, but if I were closer, I’d definitely want to check it out! I might have to look around and see if there are any things like that closer to where I am. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing! 😀
    Ambur
    My Armchair BEA Networking Post

    • bibliosue says:

      They did have a retreat in Vermont in April and I know of at least one Canadian from the Ottawa area who attended, so it’s possible!
      (What part of Canada do you live? I’m from Winnipeg!)

  13. Book retreats sounds fun. What do you guys usually do in retreats besides discussing books?

  14. Have fun at Booktopia! Sounds like a lot of fun! 🙂

Comments are closed.