Sitting Around on a Sunday

This is the first Sunday in a while where I’ve had no obligations … yay!  I think my husband and I are going to take in The Avengers and then I’ll try to hit the gym later this afternoon.

Yes, you read that right … I’m PLANNING to go to the gym!  I signed up to run my first 5k at the end of August which I’m a bit excited about, except I’m not much of a runner.  Yet.  My sister-in-law just took up running two years ago (and has since run 5 half-marathons) and when I asked her for some advice she sent me all kinds of great information and one of them was a 3 week training plan to get to running a mile.  I’ve finished day 12 and though it’s been a challenge I’m proud of myself for sticking with it.  I’m not going fast but I’m getting more comfortable with running, and I might even try a 1-mile fun run next month that my gym is sponsoring.

I’m still reading of course, just not as much as I have in the past.  I’m currently reading for review a really interesting book set in 1600s Iran called Equal of the Sun; and off of my to-read pile I’m reading Quiet, a book that makes me feel ok about my introverted nature.

What do you have going on today?

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in random reading thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sitting Around on a Sunday

  1. gsjonuk says:

    Bravo in your fitness discipline Suzanne! I play Ultimate Frisbee to stay in shape and I also enjoy biking to work. It is a 15-20 minute ride in, and a 30-40 minute ride back to my home on the hill, where all good Grinchs hang. I get that feeling of a promising workout, I miss my rides on days where I wimp out due to weather or must automobile-it due to daddy limo duty or appointments.

    Today I have been sinking deep into a catch up list-o-rama. 3 major community commitments keep the fall winter months chalked full of juggling plates for me and I love long weekends to dent into my chore and task backlog. I also have been spending some quality time with my Wifey, Terri.
    2 dates in two consecutive days is unheard of for us, we may go for three if our son prefers video games over his parents. My bet is on for a three-peat.

    • bibliosue says:

      Enjoy those dates Greg and thanks for the encouragement.
      I don’t see you as an introvert but then it’s been a long time since we’ve crossed paths. I’m only about 80 pages into the book so far but I can highly recommend it.

  2. Judith says:

    Wow, brilliant that you’re so into running now (and the gym). If you do the 1mile run, you’re my hero! I can’t run even to the end of the street – on the other hand, I can do a 5 hour cycle ride. 🙂

    We had beautiful weather on Sunday so did some gardening and sat outside with my ereader. Started and finished a whole book!

  3. DoingDewey says:

    I’ve never gotten into running, but I do love the feel of having stuck with a workout plan. Nice work!

Comments are closed.