Book Beginnings on Friday

Book Beginnings on Friday is a meme hosted at Rose City Reader.  It’s really simple:  Share the first sentence of the book you are currently reading and what it means to you.

My beginning this week is from A Land More Kind than Home by Wiley Cash:

 I sat there in the car with the gravel dust blowing across the parking lot and saw the place for what it was, not what it was right at that moment in the hot sunlight, but for what it had been maybe twelve or fifteen years before:  a real general store with folks gathered around the lunch counter, a line of people at the soda fountain, little children ordering ice cream of just about every flavor you could think of, hard candy by the quarter pound, moon pies and crackerjack and other things I hadn’t thought about tasting in years.

   The narrator is Adelaide Lyle, one of three in this novel.  She is an elderly woman, a midwife who helped bring many of the town’s current residents into the world, and with this sentence you get the sense of her longing for a different (better) time.  In addition, she also provides a hint of mystery — what is the place now if not a general store?

  I am about 3/4 of the way through this book and it is wonderful.  I have stayed up past my bedtime and extended my lunch break a few times this week just so I could keep reading.

 
About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in book beginnings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Book Beginnings on Friday

  1. zibilee says:

    I have this one, and have been more than a little excited to see some really positive reviews. I can’t wait to get to it, and I am glad you are loving it!

    • bibliosue says:

      It is soooo good, Zibilee. The owner of the indie bookstore I regularly patronize gave me her ARC of this book because she couldn’t wait for me to read it.

  2. Oh, I often see the “ghosts” of the past around me, too, as the world changes. This one sounds haunting and sad.

    Here’s MY FRIDAY MEMES POST

  3. gsjonuk says:

    Fruit Home corner grocery to Pizza Hut / Cash Mart. Bowling Alley to 7-11. Change is inevitable, and sometimes we call it progress and sometimes it is something other. In case of this paragraph, the beauty of the place as it was, was as a vessel for human community and human contact. Soda fountains and candy shops allowed for social lingering in a way that convenience stores and big box retailers struggle.
    I wonder what replaced the place, as it was, in this book and if a social void was created or if the space was converted into something fortifying the community. I guess I’ll have to read it to find out.

    • bibliosue says:

      Yes, Greg …. read this book! What replaced the store is something meant to continue the social lingering you mention, but it has a darker element too.

      (PS.. Have you ever wondered why The Regent Restaurant is the only “original” place at the Regent & Day intersection?)

  4. Everything changes and that is what life is about. Good pick. Here is mine:

  5. Amber says:

    This took me to a place in the town where I’m from…The snowball place behind the pit beef stand, which is next to the Ace hardware and deli. All of them old, a little rundown, but always in steady demand. I really like this book beginning. Here’s mine — http://morosebookshelf.blogspot.com/2012/05/book-beginnings-drowning-ruth.html

  6. Kristin T. says:

    I’ve seen this book before, but don’t know too much about it. Hope you are enjoying it!

    Have a great weekend!
    Kristin @ Always With a Book

  7. Valli says:

    Certain places do bring back some memories! Here is mine http://srivallip.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/friday-memes.html

  8. Diana Leigh says:

    That is a great opening! It really draws you into the story.

  9. rosecityreader says:

    Looks like it is going to be a nostalgic one. I will look for it.

    Thanks for joining me on Book Beginnings.

Comments are closed.