Book Beginnings on Friday

Book Beginnings on Friday is a meme hosted at Rose City Reader.  It’s really simple:  Share the first sentence of the book you are currently reading and what it means to you.

My beginning this week comes from Crossing the Borders of Time by Leslie Maitland:

During the fall that my father was dying, I went back to Europe and found myself seeking my mother’s lost love.

What an opening!  This book is non-fiction, and this sentence immediately creates interest in the author and her family’s history, which involved fleeing the Nazis during World War II at almost literally the last minute.

I am about halfway through the book and I just love it.  Though it is non-fiction, it reads like a novel; and despite the looming shadow of the War, the foundation of the story is a love story that is (so far) quite beautiful.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in book beginnings, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Beginnings on Friday

  1. zibilee says:

    I would totally read this one and am very curious about that little snippet that you posted. I will have to be on the lookout for this one!

  2. Kristin T. says:

    This is very intriguing…I’m going to have to look into this one.

    Here’s my Book Beginnings post.

  3. Diana Leigh says:

    I’d say that’s a very intense opening sentence! I prefer when non-fiction reads like a novel. I always enjoy it more. 🙂

  4. The opening definitely makes me curious to read more. I too enjoy non-fiction more when it reads like a novel.

  5. Definitely peaks my curiosity, thanks for sharing!

  6. Mystica says:

    Would love to read this one.

  7. rosecityreader says:

    Great beginning! And it sounds like a very interesting story. I will keep an eye out for it.

    Thank you for participating in Book Beginnings!

Comments are closed.