New Books!

In the last two days five new books have found their way into my house thanks to my lovely mail carrier (I for one can safely say I do my part to keep the US Postal Service in business!):

The first package arrived yesterday from The Northshire Bookstore in Manchester, Vermont, the site of the first of three Booktopia events this year.  It contained three books  by authors attending the event (and all are signed!):

Crossing the Borders of Time by Leslie Maitland

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

The Great Northern Express by Howard Frank Mosher

Booktopia Vermont sounded like an amazing time (read firsthand accounts here and here, and listen to Books on the Nightstand’s podcast of part of the night of authors event here) and I am now that much more excited for Booktopia in Oxford, Mississippi.

The second package arrived today from William Morrow and Company, with two Advance Reader’s Copies for review:

The Voluntourist by Ken Budd

Saving Ruth by Zoe Fishman

It is a cool, rainy, bleak day here today – perfect weather to curl up with one of these books and read the day away.

Are any of these books on your to-read list?

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in book buying, bookaholism, bookstores, reading retreat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Books!

  1. Leeswammes says:

    Nice! Sounds like you’re somewhere in the Netherlands – it’s cool and rainy here too. Hope you can find some time to relax with a book.

  2. Oh Boy all of these look really good to me. enjoy

  3. harvee says:

    Always a pleasure when the mailman brings a package of books!

  4. scrambledbooks says:

    Just discovered your blog and added it to my Reader. I too keep the USPS busy; recently I have been supplementing my mystery collection — drives my husband nuts. I live in the Chicago area (Oak Park) and enjoy getting into the city for book and author events. I’m waiting for your review of the Song of Achilles…I’ve been thinking about reading that.

    • bibliosue says:

      Thank you for visiting! I’ve heard many good things about The Song of Achilles, so I am looking forward to reading it for myself.

Comments are closed.