Book Beginnings on Friday

Book Beginnings on Friday is a meme hosted at Rose City Reader.  It’s really simple:  Share the first sentence of the book you are currently reading and what it means to you. 

My beginning this week comes from The Brief History of the Dead by Kevin Brockmeier:

When the blind man arrived in the city, he claimed that he had traveled across a desert of living sand.

  To me, this sentence instantly creates interest:  Why is the blind man coming to the city?  Where is he coming from?  I am about 100 pages into the book so far, and we have some sort of answer, but enough remains a mystery for me to keep reading.  This book is dystopic, which is not my normal cup of tea, but I’m enjoying it very much.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in book beginnings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book Beginnings on Friday

  1. rosecityreader says:

    Sounds like it might be very spooky!
    Thanks for including your post on Book Beginnings.

  2. mostraum says:

    Yes, that’s a great opening sentence. Makes me really curious.

  3. jonesjar says:

    Nice beginning. Certainly stirs up interest. Here is my post:

    Book Beginnings

  4. Mary says:

    Always a nice surprise when a genre you don’t normally read turns out to be enjoyable.

Comments are closed.