Magazine Monday

Welcome to Magazine Monday!  This is a feature I created to talk about magazine articles I’ve read during the previous week.

 Sadly I’ve not had much time to read this week — books or magazines.  The piece I’ve selected for this week is the only one that interested me enough to talk about, but it is political; here in the United States it is an election year and a lot of attention is being paid to candidates and issues, so it might be hard to avoid talking about completely, but I will try to avoid deeply polarizing pieces and welcome any respectful comments.

  This week’s New Yorker had a report on the effort to recall Wisconsin governor Scott Walker after his unpopular effort to strip many of the state’s public-sector unions of their collective-bargaining rights.  The introduction of this bill at the beginning of his term in 2011 created a national and international reaction and it could be argued that it was the precursor to the Occupy movements that developed later that year.  In some ways Walker can be commended for making hard fiscal decisions in tough times, but according to this report he made little or no effort to consult with the unions who would be most affected by this bill and seemed to avoid any contact with its opponents.  Perhaps it is this attitude that spurred the recall effort, and which inspired people – a few profiled in this article – to spend hours of their own time soliciting signatures on the petition to begin the recall process. 

  Are there any magazine articles that caught your interest this week?  Tell me about them!

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in Magazine Monday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Magazine Monday

  1. zibilee says:

    I don’t really read very many magazines, or follow politics, but what you’ve shared here today is rather interesting, and though I knew that this year was an election year, I haven’t been paying much attention to all the news surrounding that.

    • bibliosue says:

      Zibilee, I try to pay attention to the “real” news but it gets harder and harder with everyone arguing amongst themselves. I liked the fact that I just came across this piece on my own.

  2. This is a great idea, Sue.

    I just finished reading a piece in Saltscapes magazine (http://www.saltscapes.com/) about New Brunswick’s 104th Regiment and their march to Ontario in March 1813. They were going “to play their role in the War of 1812, which started on June 18, 1812, when US President James Madison and Congress declared war on Great Britain” (and attacked what would become Canada). (The Brits & Canadians were eventually successful in repelling the American invaders.)

    • bibliosue says:

      Debbie, that sounds like a fascinating piece. I tried accessing it through the Saltscapes website but alas it wasn’t available to non-subscribers. I’ll keep trying though. Thanks for mentioning it!

  3. I was living in Wisconsin last year when Scott Walker took office and started making all sorts of big changes. I’m curious to go read the article you linked to and see if it matches up with what I remember happening.

  4. Greg says:

    I read a clear, concise article one of the greatest words in the English language: “no.”
    This article has some great tips on how to use this fabulous word as the crux of your time management. For example, sandwich your no in two “yes’s” is very wise.

    I followed the Wisconsin Walker follies via Michael Moore, the documentary film-maker, who was involved in the protest and communicated events to his twitter network. Personally, up until last year, I was never much of a union guy, perhaps drinking the kool-aid of neoliberalism leaders/thinker like Thatcher, Reagan, Von Hayak, and Friedman. However, I am increasingly moving away from the notion that unions are a waste of money and realizing that they are instead a necessary balance; an insurance against unbridled greed. Thanks for the share Sue, I will read with gusto!

Comments are closed.