Sitting Around on a Sunday

  Ok, sitting around is what I normally do on a Sunday (with something to read in hand of course) but this weekend I can at least be justified for doing so.  Yesterday was my husband’s nephew’s bar mitzvah and it was a fun but very long day.  I was asked to participate in the service and gave a short reading toward the end so until I went up to do my thing I was nervous but afterwards people complimented me so I was quite proud of myself.  It was a nostalgic moment, because Spencer was just 6 months old when I met him and when he attended our wedding; and in the eyes of his faith he is now a man.  Time flies. 

  So after getting some stuff ready to do my taxes I am going to spend the afternoon reading.  I am currently reading History of a Pleasure Seeker by Richard Mason, a novel about a young social climber (at least that’s how I see him right now) in early 20th century Amsterdam, and I’m re-reading one of my favorites from last year, The Most Beautiful Book in the World by Eric-Emmanuel Schmitt, which my book group will be discussing next week.  As an additional challenge to myself, I picked up a copy of this book in its original language, French, when I was up in Toronto a few weeks ago and I am trying to read at least one or two of the stories from that; already knowing the essentials of the stories in English is helping me follow them in French.

What are you up to this Sunday?

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in random reading thoughts, re-reads and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sitting Around on a Sunday

  1. Leeswammes says:

    Good to hear your reading went well (at the bar mitzvah I mean). And today is a relaxing day. Here, too! I have a stinking head ache that doesn’t want to clear but have been doing some reading even so, and not that much else. With the weather still freezing (just), I don’t feel like doing much and the rest of the family is happy inside too. And why not?

    Enjoy your relaxing Sunday!

  2. You had a busy weekend, so you deserve a break today. My husband’s oldest grandchild will have her “bat mitzvah” in 2013 in NYC.

  3. Marie says:

    I sat around a lot too! 🙂 That’s what Sundays are for! 🙂

Comments are closed.