Carrots ‘N’ Cake

Published:  2011 by Sterling Publishing
Source:  Purchased
  For me, this book is another indication that I might be a little bit too impulsive when I am browsing the bookstores.  I picked up the book because I liked the catchy title, and in my ongoing effort to maintain a healthier lifestyle I thought I could learn a few things from it.  I may have read the jacket copy that said the author maintains a blog of the same name, but it didn’t fully register.
  Hindsight now tells me that when I see a book that is based on a blog, it might be a good idea to visit said blog first to see how I like it before purchasing the book.  
  It’s not that what she writes about isn’t interesting; in fact, I’m very much drawn to personal stories of weight loss struggles because I can completely relate to them, and I appreciate the author’s thesis of maintaining a healthy diet and exercise program while including occasional indulgences.  There was just something about her style that I didn’t like; the book reads like a collection of blog posts, though I could not determine by a quick look through her blog if the content was taken directly from it.  This is where I should have put the book back on the bookstore shelf, gone home, and looked at the blog first.  And I didn’t feel that I could relate to the author; she is describing her personal lifestyle but I found it very close to being preachy.
  Aside from some recipes that might be worth a try, I don’t feel like I learned much by reading this book. 
  My recommendation:  Check out the Carrots ‘n’ Cake blog first,  If you like what you see, you’ll probably enjoy the book.
About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in based on blog, book thoughts, health and fitness, non-fiction. Bookmark the permalink.