Reading Slowdown

  Halfway through October and I have not completed a single book.

  This has not happened in a very long time.  While I always have a few books on the go at any one time (four right now), I can usually rotate at least one of them within a day or two.  Granted, all of my current reads are each over 400 pages (Cutting for Stone, Grand Pursuit, The Woman in White, and In My Time), and for the most part I’m enjoying them (or at least they are holding my attention), but I feel so ….. unproductive.

  Which is stupid, I know, because there are people who probably don’t read four books in a year.  And reading is supposed to be pleasurable and something done for quality instead of quantity.  Yet when I see all of the books on my to-read shelf, patiently waiting, and those books I’ve received and committed to review, I get anxious.  Yes I’m a bookaholic and my head knows that I really don’t need to bring any more books into the house for a very (very, very) long time, but don’t we all want to participate in conversations about new books, books discussed on blogs and in other media, and/or books we just plain want to read?

*** ACK ***  I feel my head is about to explode.  Ah, well, the best remedy for that is to go back to my reading…..

How do you handle reading overload?  Can you strike a balance between quality and quantity, or does quantity even matter when it comes to reading?

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in random reading thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.