Literary Blog Hop — Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner?

Literary Blog Hop

The Literary Blog Hop is hosted over at The Blue Bookcase

This week’s question:

If you could invite any three literary figures from different eras to a Sunday Dinner who would they be?
 A seemingly easy, but rather difficult question; how to narrow it down to just three?  Should I invite three like-minded writers who will keep the conversation friendly, or should I invite polar opposites who will do nothing but debate and argue?  As I’m conflict-averse, I’m inclined to have the friendly party, but I think some like-minded writers can also have lively debates and make the evening so much more interesting.

So here is my guest list:
  1. Margaret Atwood:  not only is she a fantastic writer but on the few occasions where I have had the pleasure to hear her speak she has proven to be quite witty.
  2. Virginia Woolf:  I’ve only read Mrs. Dalloway, but I think she and Atwood would have a lot to talk about.
  3. William Shakespeare:  I know this is probably a no-brainer, but I think it would be fascinating to hear him talk about his plays; and I think the other guests would have thoughts about some of his female characters, namely Lady Macbeth and Ophelia.
 Who’s attending your literary dinner party?
   
About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in classics of literature, Literary blog hop. Bookmark the permalink.