5 Best Books….. made into a movie

The 5 Best Books meme is hosted by Cassandra at Indie Reader Houston
  This week we are asked to list the 5 best books made into a movie.
  I have to admit that when I first saw this topic I came up blank; but as I let the topic sit and stew in my brain for the day I managed to come up with a fairly good list (if I do say so myself).  There are some on this list I read the book first, others I saw the movie first;  but for all of these both the book and the movie were excellent:
The Green Mile  This might be the only Stephen King novel I’ve read (I’m too much of a scaredy-cat for his other work) but I loved it and the movie was just wonderful.
Atonement The movie did a great job of capturing the mischieviousness of Briony and the heartache of Cecelia and Robbie.


The Boy in the Striped Pajamas  I’m so glad I read the book before I saw the movie, because that ending just tore my heart out and I would have embarassed myself if I reacted in the theater as I did in my house after finishing the book.

Schindler’s List I read this after I saw the movie and loved the additional background the book provided.

The Pianist  Another one that I read after the movie.  Both are great, but I think in this case I may have preferred the movie.  Adrian Brody is absolutely fantastic.
 

What are your favorite book to movie adaptations?
About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in 5 best books, books into movies. Bookmark the permalink.