It’s Monday — What are You Reading?

It’s Monday – What are you Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at bookjourney to allow us to share with others in the book-loving cyberworld what is on our reading plates.

This week I only finished one book:  Emma, by Jane Austen.  I didn’t really like it, but it was a good book for our classics group discussion; I’m also told that it improves upon re-reading, so maybe one day I will go back to it.

Books in progress:

  • Fall of Giants by Ken Follett.  I’m about 2/3 of the way through and enjoy it very much.  This is the first book of an anticipated trilogy and I already am eagerly awaiting the next one.  Oh, and I really need to read The Pillars of the Earth and World Without End too.
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker.  I’m surprised at how much I’m enjoying this, as I don’t normally go for the creepy, gothic stuff. 
  • At Home:  A Short History of Private Life by Bill Bryson.  I borrowed this from the library, but it is so full of interesting facts and trivia that I might just need to purchase this at some point. 
  • Best European Fiction 2010 edited by Aleksandar Hemon.  I wish I could read more literature in their original languages, but this anthology provides a broad sample of translated works of which we aren’t too familiar in the US

Once I’ve one or two of these of of my plate I am very eager to start Hand Me Down World by Lloyd Jones.  I was very lucky to have received a signed copy from a Twitter giveaway (thank you Claire Armitstead and The Guardian!) and there will be a discussion of the book on Twitter with the hashtag #HMDWchat.  The book has a very interesting premise so I am looking forward to reading and discussing it.

What are you reading this week?

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in week in review. Bookmark the permalink.